How thick does your Robo cut?

Discuss things about your electronic cutter Robo/Cricut/Silhouette and swap hints and tips. Links to files anything that is useful.
User avatar
Carolyn
The Boss
Posts: 42830
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Ampthill, Beds
Contact:

How thick does your Robo cut?

Post by Carolyn » Sun Apr 17, 2011 10:11 am

my robo is very old now and wondering if the newer version cut thicker card? I do like my robo and if it cut thicker card I would like it more!



User avatar
LizG
Posts: 3870
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Sussex

Re: how thick can you cut in your robo?

Post by LizG » Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:23 pm

I had the CC330-20 at Christmas and I think it cuts up to 220 grams, but have not tried cutting that thick yet.

I have been told that Conquerer card is lovely and probably one of the best cards to use ..... again, I have not tried it yet.

I am beginning to love my Robo. I have been using only two types of card and have got to know the settings to use. I got a request at church this morning for a christening card and what luck I had downloaded a template for one last night ....so card made and I am just about to deliver it to her Mum who I will see tonight.

sheilagh
Posts: 3030
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 4:11 pm
Location: Merseyside
Contact:

Re: How thick does your Robo cut?

Post by sheilagh » Mon Apr 18, 2011 8:29 am

I haven't had a lot of success with thicker card probably because what I have in stock is too fibrous. Bazzill hasn't been very successful either even using the double cut option. I have stuck to using 160 - 175g card/paper and I get nice clean outlines.

User avatar
LizG
Posts: 3870
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Sussex

Re: How thick does your Robo cut?

Post by LizG » Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:56 pm

The card I am using at the moment is 165gram but the Conquerer card I have been recommended as a good thicker card that cuts beautifully is 250 gram and you cut with the pink cap and pressure 33.

User avatar
JJ
Posts: 638
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:19 am
Location: Wivenhoe, Essex
Contact:

Re: How thick does your Robo cut?

Post by JJ » Tue Apr 19, 2011 5:22 pm

I have never had any luck with the Conqueror card cutting in my robo. I might give it another go. I tend to print what I want onto a decent weight photo paper and cut that out.
Janet xxxxx

"""***********************************"""
As you slide down the banister of life may the splinters never face the wrong way.
"""***********************************"""

sheilagh
Posts: 3030
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 4:11 pm
Location: Merseyside
Contact:

Re: How thick does your Robo cut?

Post by sheilagh » Tue Apr 19, 2011 5:59 pm

I have had great success with Canford card which is 160g. My local art shop sells it in massive sheets (A2?) and they cut it into 8x A4 sheets for me.

User avatar
LizG
Posts: 3870
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Sussex

Re: How thick does your Robo cut?

Post by LizG » Tue Apr 19, 2011 6:56 pm

I bought some Canford card when a local shop closed, but have not tried cutting it yet. Have you tried the black or is it too fibrous?

sheilagh
Posts: 3030
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 4:11 pm
Location: Merseyside
Contact:

Re: How thick does your Robo cut?

Post by sheilagh » Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:43 am

The balck Canford I use is 150g and I bought it as an A4 pad - they call it paper but it is just like thin card to me. I have put some links below to my ebay shop to show you some of the things I have cut using it and coloured canford which I think is 160g. It didn't seem fibrous at all to me - not like bazzill


http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Celtic-Knots-Gree ... 1c1b2171e9
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Just-Note-x-8-Mus ... 1c1a1f0725

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Nativity-Scene-Si ... 588ab4954f

User avatar
LizG
Posts: 3870
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Sussex

Re: How thick does your Robo cut?

Post by LizG » Wed Apr 20, 2011 6:23 pm

I must try mine.

I have just created my first "intricate" design. I have done the cutting but have not made up the card yet. I have done a swirly lattice work cross to fit on a cut card - it will do for Easter or Christenings.

User avatar
LizG
Posts: 3870
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:43 pm
Location: Sussex

Re: How thick does your Robo cut?

Post by LizG » Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:14 pm

I love the stuff you have on ebay and hope they sell well for you. Do you manage to sell a lot on there?

sheilagh
Posts: 3030
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 4:11 pm
Location: Merseyside
Contact:

Re: How thick does your Robo cut?

Post by sheilagh » Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:52 pm

Thanks Liz,

I haven't put much of the Robo stuff on ebay as I am just getting the hang of it all and TBH there aren't enough hours in the day. I don't make anything really on my shop but basically just cover costs. I love fiddling though and trying out and making things and as I don't do much card making any more, I need an outlet for what I make.

User avatar
cazat81
Posts: 13073
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 10:18 am
Location: Cambridge
Contact:

Re: How thick does your Robo cut?

Post by cazat81 » Sat Apr 23, 2011 8:12 am

Thank you Sheilagh for my ordered goodies from your ebay store and for all the extras you included :angel: Really pleased with everything :lol: Thankyou :)
Carole

sheilagh
Posts: 3030
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 4:11 pm
Location: Merseyside
Contact:

Re: How thick does your Robo cut?

Post by sheilagh » Sat Apr 23, 2011 9:02 am

Glad you got them Carole, Have fun. :)

User avatar
Carolyn
The Boss
Posts: 42830
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Ampthill, Beds
Contact:

Re: How thick does your Robo cut?

Post by Carolyn » Sat Apr 23, 2011 9:21 am

Liz and Sheilagh - yours are far newer than mine and am wondering if it is better...JJ I think yours is quite old like mine?

I guess unless someone has an old and new one it is hard to compare. I love the choise of die cuts with silhouette all fully compatible - but get a little frustrated when it won't cut what I want. I tend to use thin card like photocopying card - when layered up it is OK

User avatar
poohster
Posts: 501
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 10:31 am
Location: West Midlands

Re: How thick does your Robo cut?

Post by poohster » Thu May 05, 2011 5:19 pm

hi all i had a craft robo for xmas, havnt used it much yet but have tried it out a couple of times. I cut using a thin card am guessing around the 175gsm mark which cut out fine but i tried to do it again but it wont cut all the way through now, am wondering if its a problem with my machine or blade :(
Happy Crafting

Dawn

Post Reply